Kamala Das

kamala das_300dpi

My K ❤ Like many non-Malayalam readers, I got acquainted with her first through her autobiography…it might be one of the first truly feminist writing I had seen until then. I loved it so much, I made my mother sit down so I can read parts of it to her- ultimate sign of a book’s impact on me. {I was maybe 15 then}

I found and embraced her poetry after that book. And I continue to go back to her poems, her book, her words to find strength and remind myself what a strong woman looks like, and how that strength need not be dependent on the society’s readiness for it; maybe we have to be strong first and show repeated examples of it to slowly mould the world into accepting it.

Leave a Reply

