Joan Didion

joan didion_300dpiThe 10th portrait in the Writerly Women series, and my J. 🙂 I am reading her biography by Tracy Daugherty- “The Last Love Song”. I wish I didn’t have such a compelling need to know more and more about the people I admire, because you never know what you’ll find- inspiration or disappointment. And why such curiosity (nosiness)- she shares enough herself,  she shares as much as she would want to be known. Her raw testimony to grief and aging- “Blue Nights” – had left me softly weeping for days after I finished the book.

And yet here I am trying to greedily know more of the places, people and experiences her writing sprang from.

Leave a Reply

